New Zealand Scrabble Records

as at 1st January 2024

New Zealand Performances at the World Scrabble Championships, now WESPAC (held since 1991)			
World Champion		Alastair Richards	2021 (online)
		Nigel Richards	2007, 2011, 2013, 2019
In the top 10 (other than 1st)	7th	Mike Sigley	1993
	3rd	Jeff Grant	1995
	6th	Jack Dymond	1997
		(Kendall Boyd)	
	8th, 2nd, 3rd	Nigel Richards	1999, 2009, 2017
Most frequent competitor	11 times	Jeff Grant	1991-2015
		Howard Warner	1999-2021

NZ Performances at the World Youth Championships			
Highest Place	7th/120	Lewis Hawkins	2014
Most frequent competitor	4 times	Lewis Hawkins	2013-2017

Trans-Tasman Challenge		
Challenges won by NZ	3	1998, 200, 2010
Individual winners	Peter Sinton	1998
	Jack Dymond (Kendall Boyd)	2000
	Howard Warner	2002
	Joanne Craig	2010
	Dylan Early	2018

NZ Masters Tournament (held since 1984)			
Most games won	21/23	Jeff Grant & Mike Sigley	1993, 1997, 2002
Highest spread	2529	Alastair Richards	2021
Most times winner	12 times	Howard Warner	2003-04, 2006 2008-13, 2018
Most frequent competitor	38/39	Glennis Hale	1984-2022
Youngest competitor	12 years, 104 days	Lewis Hawkins	2017
Oldest competitor	84 years, 288 days	June Mackwell	2008

The National Championship (held since 1980)				
Most times National Champion	16 times	Jeff Grant	1990-91, 1993-96, 1998, 2000-01, 2007-08	
Youngest competitor	8 years, 151 days	Lewis Hawkins	2013	
Oldest competitor	88 years, 359 days	June Mackwell	2012	

Tournament Records			
Highest game score	756	Dylan Early	April 2019
Highest losing score	514	Pam Barlow	June 2010
Highest drawn score	487	Debbie Raphael & Lynn Wood	February 2004
Highest single turn	302	Lynne Butler	October 2011
Highest single turn non-bonus	135	Ruth O'Neil	November 1997
Highest combined score	1078	David Lloyd & Howard Warner	March 1997
	1078	Alastair Richards & Lyres Freeth	March 2019
Highest winning margin	493	Mike Sigley	November 1990
Highest add-on	58	Jeff Grant	March 2012
	58	Lynn Wood	May 2015
Most consecutive bonus words	5	Allie Quinn	June 1989
Most consecutive bonus words (individual)	6 6 6	Nigel Richards Yvette Hewlett Howard Warner	August 1998 November 2001 August 2012
Most bonus words in a game (combined)	8 8 8	Mike Sigley & Glenyss Buchanan Nigel Richards & John Foster Paul Lister & Shirley Hol	Pre 1997 August 1998 May 2013
Highest average in a tournament	584	Nigel Richards	January 1997
Most tournament games played	5544	Lynn Wood	
Most tournament games won	2620.5	Howard Warner	

Milestones - games played	
5000 tournament games played	
Lynn Wood	5544
4000 tournament games played	
Betty Eriksen	4279
3000 tournament games played	
Val Mills (E)	3739
Howard Warner (GM)	3490
Glennis Hale (GM)	3420
Jean O'Brien	3391
John Foster (GM)	3376
Liz Fagerlund (GM)	3325
David Gunn	3276
Jennifer Smith	3150
2000 tournament games played	
Su Walker	2825
Glenda Geard	2780
Glenda Geard Carolyn Kyle	2780 2701
Carolyn Kyle	2701
Carolyn Kyle Lawson Sue (GM)	2701 2623
Carolyn Kyle Lawson Sue (GM) Jeff Grant (GM)	2701 2623 2604
Carolyn Kyle Lawson Sue (GM) Jeff Grant (GM) Shirley Martin	2701 2623 2604 2519
Carolyn Kyle Lawson Sue (GM) Jeff Grant (GM) Shirley Martin Lorraine Van Veen	2701 2623 2604 2519 2495
Carolyn Kyle Lawson Sue (GM) Jeff Grant (GM) Shirley Martin Lorraine Van Veen Murray Rogers (E)	2701 2623 2604 2519 2495 2492
Carolyn Kyle Lawson Sue (GM) Jeff Grant (GM) Shirley Martin Lorraine Van Veen Murray Rogers (E) Delcie Macbeth	2701 2623 2604 2519 2495 2492 2395
Carolyn Kyle Lawson Sue (GM) Jeff Grant (GM) Shirley Martin Lorraine Van Veen Murray Rogers (E) Delcie Macbeth Rosemary Cleary (E)	2701 2623 2604 2519 2495 2492 2395 2208
Carolyn Kyle Lawson Sue (GM) Jeff Grant (GM) Shirley Martin Lorraine Van Veen Murray Rogers (E) Delcie Macbeth Rosemary Cleary (E) Andrew Bradley (GM)	2701 2623 2604 2519 2495 2492 2395 2208 2175
Carolyn Kyle Lawson Sue (GM) Jeff Grant (GM) Shirley Martin Lorraine Van Veen Murray Rogers (E) Delcie Macbeth Rosemary Cleary (E) Andrew Bradley (GM) Roger Coates	2701 2623 2604 2519 2495 2492 2395 2208 2175 2097

1000 tournament games played	
Mary Curtis	1219
Lyres Freeth (GM)	1154
Colleen Cook	1089
Jillian Greening	1086
Judy Driscoll	1085
Vicky Robertson	1048
Francess Higham	1046
Tony Charlton	1040
Antonia Aarts	1021

Milestones - games won	
2000 tournament games won	
Howard Warner	2620.5
Lynn Wood	2656
Betty Erikson	2149.5
1000 tournament games won	
Jeff Grant (GM)	1931
John Foster (GM)	1873.5
Glennis Hale (GM)	1862
Val Mills (E)	1836
Jean O'Brien	1702.5
Liz Fagerlund (GM)	1709
David Gunn	1605
Jennifer Smith	1505.5
Su Walker	1435
Lawson Sue (GM)	1423.5
Glenda Geard	1372
Carolyn Kyle	1328
Murray Rogers (E)	1310.5
Shirley Martin	1250
Delcie Macbeth	1230.5
Lorraine Van Veen	1227.5
Andrew Bradley (GM)	1162.5
Cicely Bruce (GM)	1121
Anderina McLean (GM)	1098
Olivia En (E)	1094
Helen Sillis	1039

Club Records				
Highest game score	763	John Foster	Mt Albert	January 1993
Highest losing score	522 522	Stanley Ngundi Nick Ascroft	Scrabble Wellington	August 2019 September 2022
Highest drawn score	482	Jeff Grant & Margaret Warren	Hastings	March 1994
Highest single turn	347	Neil Talbot	Wellington	October 2003
Highest single turn, non-bonus	261	John Foster	Mt Albert	January 1993
Highest combined score	1106	Chris Hooks & Dawn Kitzen	Papatoetoe & Mt Albert	March 1992
Highest winning margin	590	Paul Lister	Christchurch	November 2008
Highest add-on	68	Andrew Bradley	Mt Albert	Pre-1990
Most consecutive bonus words	5 5 5	John Foster Patrick Carter Paul Lister	Mt Albert Mt Albert Christchurch	April 1992 April 2003 August 2010
Most bonus words in a game (individual)	7	Jeff Grant	Independent	September 1997
Most bonus words in a game (combined)	8	Chris Hooks & Dawn Kitzen	Papatoetoe & Mt Albert	March 1992
	8	Dylan Early & Nick Ascroft	Scrabble Wellington	September 2022

Grand Masters		Experts
Alastair Richards (GM)	Lawson Sue (GM)	Lewis Hawkins (E)
Howards Warner (GM)	Cicely Bruce (GM)	Murray Rogers (E)
Lyres Freeth (GM)	Lynne Butler (GM)	Nick Ascroft (E)
Joanne Craig (GM)	John Foster (GM)	Scott Chaputt (E)
Dylan Early (GM)	Anderina McLean (GM)	Rosemary Cleary (E)
Patrick Carter (GM)	Steven Brown (GM)	Olivia En (E)
Jeff Grant (GM)	Glennis Hale (GM)	Paul Lister (E)
Blue Thorogood (GM)	Liz Fagerlund (GM)	Val Mills (E)
Peter Sinton (GM)	Stanley Ngundi (GM)	Karen Richards (E)
Andrew Bradley (GM)	Gil Quiballo (GM)	